On December 4, 1980, Pres. Ferdinand E. Marcos signed Batas Pambansa Blg. 91 which merged the Mambusao Agricultural and Technical College (MATEC) in Burias, Mambusao and Capiz Agricultural and Fishery School (CAFS) in Bailan, Pontevedra to become the Panay State Polytechnic College (PSPC). The integration of Capiz Institute of Technology in Roxas City on October 25, 1999 and Sigma College of Science and Technology in Sigma, Capiz on December 19, 2000, paved the way for the conversion of the state college into a state university. Thus, with the signing by Pres. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo of Republic Act No. 9273 on March 21, 2004, PSPC was converted into Capiz State University.

     The Charter (RA 9273) mandates that Capiz State University “shall primarily provide advanced instruction and professional training in agriculture, fishery and forestry, science and technology, arts and humanities, education and other related fields.” It is also mandated to “undertake research, extension and production activities and provide progressive leadership in its areas of specialization.”

     For its curricular offerings, the University is mandated to “offer undergraduate, graduate and short-term courses within its areas of specialization and according to its capabilities, as the Board of Regents may deem necessary to carry out its objectives, in order to meet the needs of the Province of Capiz and the region.”

     The University is governed by the Board of Regents (BOR) which is composed of the CHED Chairperson or Commissioner as the Chairperson; the University President as Vice Chairperson; Chairperson of the Senate Committee on Education, Arts and Culture; Chairperson of the House of Representatives Committee on Higher and Technical Education; Regional Director of the National Economic Development Authority (NEDA); Regional Director of the Department of Agriculture (DA); Regional Director of the Department of Science and Technolgy (DOST); President of the Federation of Faculty Associations; President of the Federation of Alumni Associations; President of the Federation of Student Councils; and two (2) prominent citizens of the province of Capiz.

     The center for administration of the University is in Roxas City where the University President holds office. The University President is assisted by three Vice Presidents (Vice President for Administration and Finance, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Vice President for Research, Developmentt and Extension) and Directors. There are 10 existing campuses each headed by a Campus Administrator. Under this CapSU Strategic Plan, however, the organizational set-up will be rationalized such that only three (3) major campuses will exist, namely: Main Campus in Roxas City and Pontevedra Campus in the 1st Congressional District and Burias Campus in the 2nd Congressional District. Campuses in Dayao, Pilar, Sapian, Sigma, Mambusao, Dumarao and Tapaz will become satellite colleges of the major campuses.